Historical Data of Casiguran 1952

In 2006 I posted “Historical Data of Baler 1952-1953“, the source of which was then unknown since I just discovered it in my old hard disk. Later snooping led me to the copies of the original documents in the National Library. And the document was not alone. There’s also the same historical data for Casiguran and Maria Aurora. For this post, I will slowly encode the Historical Data of Casiguran from 1952. It’s longer than the Baler document so visit this page from time to time until it’s complete.

June 19, 1938. Manuel L. Quezon visits Casiguran. (source: Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office)
June 19, 1938. Manuel L. Quezon visits Casiguran. (source: Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office)

Historical Data of Casiguran

No record of its establishment and change of boundaries can be given to date as no informer could be found in this locality. However, the town of Casiguran was onve uncer th province of Nueva Viscaya. But sometime in the year 1905 or 1908 the boundary of Quezon province was extended to the north so as to include Casiguran.

As far as could be remenbered by the informer, the province was ruled by the following governors: Hon. Manuel Quezon, Lucban, Abastillas, Filemon Perez, Maximo Rodriguez, Leon Guinto, Dr. Casiano Sandoval, Hilarion Yanza, Gregorio Santayana, and Vicente Constantino. Other officials who served in the province were Representatives Fabian Millar, Jose Angara, Francisco Lavidez, Primitovo San Agustin and Rafael Villar. Some of the outstanding citizens of the province were Don Filemon Perez r., MAnuel Quezon, Don Justo Lucban, Vicente Lucban, Mrs. Aurora Quezon, Gregorio Sena, Elias Desembrana, Fortunato Suarez, Dr. cAsiano Sandoval and Jose Angara.

No further information could be gathered about the province in this municipality as there are no available informers.

Submitted by:

Memorandm no. 34, s. 1952

Historical Data Regarding Barros, Towns, Cities, and Provinces

I. History and Cultural Life of the Town of Casiguran, Subprovince of Aurora

Part One: History

Te present official name of the town is Casiguran. The name Casiguran is derived from the word “Casig” said to be the name of a beautiful girl residing in the sitio  of Mangga, this town. Casig was the only daughter of a datu. She was so beautiful that many a young men in the neighboring barangays went to her home to ask for her hands. So many suitors had she that their hoe was always in merriment. Is it said that the food she swallowed could be discerned through her throat. It was the common practice in those days for people to ask each other “Where are you going” when they met on the street. “I am going to Casig” was the usual reply. The name casiguran might have been derived from the name of this girl.

Another source of infornation says that Casiguran got its name from the native word “Casiguruhan” which menas security. The early settlers liked the port of Casiguran because it has a safe anchorage for their boats. During stormy days the barangays sought refuge in Casiguran Bay. Thus the place was called Casiguran, the shortened word fr Casiguruhan.

As important records and documents were lost during the typhhons no definite information can be secured as to the exact date when this municipality was established. However, according to Father Thomas, the present curate priest, the Christian community of Casiguran was established by two Franciscan Fathers in 1609. This statement might be true for the Brief History of Philippines by Fernandez states that in 1798, one hundred eighty nine years after, the Moros plundered Casiguran. The founders of this town are unknown for lack of records

During the Spanish to the present regime the name of the officials so far remembered are:


1. Carlos Santos
2. Benito Pascano
3. Jesus Tilles
4. Jesus Lilio
5. Saturnino Alvarez
6. Saturnino Gomez
7. Julian Garcia
8. Abundio Mora y Granadas
9. Pedro Felix Angel
10. Angel Gomez Platero
11. Juan Lopez
12. Felix Gimenez
13. Francisco Santos
14. Sergio J. Olivera (Fil.)
15. Mariano Nuñez
16. Thomas Pamolli (Italian)


1. Andres Moreno
2. Eugenio Araneta
3. Carlos Liwanag
4. Laureano Liwanag
5. Baldomero Leonardo
6. Filomeno Jacob
7. Juan Flores
8. Juan Austria
9. Esteban Jacob
10. Jose Jacob
11. Leonardo Liwanag
12. Fernando Moreno
13. Mariano Peña
14. Antonio Calugtong
15. Antoni Calugtong


Presidents………….. Vice Presidents
1. Toribio Austria …………… None
2. Urbano Leonardo …………… Leoncio Soriano
3. Pablo Valencia …………… Silverio Chavez
4. Teodoro Angara …………… Variano Mora
5.  Damaso Liwanag …………… Gihino Alvan
6. Antonio Gavira …………… Benigno Moreno
7. Benigno Moreno (acting) …………… A no. 1 Councilor, Francisco Guerrero
8. Pedro Liwanag …………… Anastacio Balbuena
9. Anastacio Balbuena (acting) …………… Vicente Austria (appointed)
10. Benigno Moreno …………… Crispo Liwanag
11. Eleuterio Morales …………… Roman Moreno
12. Nicolas P. Moral (2 times) …………… Gabriel Mora
13. Antonio Angara (2 terms) …………… Jesus Moral
14. Nicolas P. Moral (Japanese occupation) …………… Filomeno Moral
14. Jesus Moral …………… Filomena Moral
15. Dalmacio Angara (Appointed) …………… Alejandro Calugtong (appointed)
16. Milestandish Alhambra …………… Dominador Alejo Gonzales
17. Constantino Peña …………… Tomas P. Moral


  1. Baldomero Leonardo
  2. Anastacio Balbuena


  1. The Ermita Hill – this hill served as the fortification of the people from Moros attack. Big logs and stones were piled on the summit of this hill. When the moros came the people ran to this hill. As soon as the Moros attempted to attack logs and stones are rolled bringing the Moros down.
  2. The Watch Tower at Depalale Point – The ruin of this tower still stands at this point overlooking the Casiguran Sound. When Moro vintas were seen coming fire was immediately kindled to produce smoke. The inhabitants would then prepare for the attach.
  3. The ruin of the Castillo Bantayan. As soon as the watchers see the smoke from the watch tower at Depalale they would run to the town to tell the people to run to the Ermita Hill.
  4. Other ruins are : The old church, the old Catholic Cemetery, the powder hut, and the oven in the ruin of the convent. These were constructed in the 17th century.

(to be continued…)

Leave a Reply